Go Back   The Supercar Registry > General Discussion > Member's Rides

Old 09-29-2005, 03:03 AM

Default NJ Steves Project Pit Viper...

The story all began back in 1992 when I was a Tech Editor and Managing Editor for Mopar Muscle Magazine and Musclecar Review. We wanted to do something interesting and unique, something that no other magazine had ever done. So we approached the people at Dodge/Team Viper and raised the idea of a Viper as a magazine project car. At the time, Team Viper was made up of a bunch of young rebels and upstarts and was happy to see that someone wanted to play with their baby, instead of parking it and speculating on how high the price would go. We told them we were going to test the car out and then work with the aftermarket to see if we could make the car better. Surprisingly, they agreed (though they wouldn’t give us a free car) and I ended up placing an order (with my own money at a “good price”) in 1992. Somehow through the miracles of Mother Mopar's intervention, the car was scheduled to be built in January of 1993. I got a call in Jan 1993 and we firmed up the date so I could be on the assembly line as it was being built. I flew up to Detroit and was able to photograph the car in mid-assembly. This was something of a coup at the time because before then, no cameras were ever allowed in that secret hallowed hall known as the New Mack Viper Assembly Plant.