Go Back   The Supercar Registry > General Discussion > Supercar/Musclecar Discussion

Old 12-08-2015, 02:19 PM
Yenko Contributing Member

Default First Cars and Musclecars

The world has certainly changed a lot since 1985, when I burned up all $2,600 of my college money to purchase my 1967 Chevelle. I was a sophomore in HS and that car was the world to me. I hung around with the car guys (still do) and learned almost everything I know from working on the car. Much of that experience has saved me thousands of dollars over the years in restoration and daily driver costs. We used to cruise, race and work on the cars weekly if not daily.

When I was a teenager your car was a part of your life (much like the rest of you I imagine). This was especially true of the guys that put together pretty nice cars.

Fast forward to 2015... I still own my 1967 Chevelle and have completed the full resto on it, my son helped with parts and is very active on my garage projects. He is turning 15 and has earned and saved a substantial amount of money (about $10,000). He would like to get a Chevelle - probably a project. Mom isn't real big on the idea, as she was raised that having transportation was enough.

Just wanted to hear about anyone else's experiences like this. I'm totally supportive and frankly can't wait to help him learn how these cars come apart and go together. The car we're considering is a substantial project, has a strong pedigree (SS396, 4 spd, #'s match, with buildsheet), but is a considerable project that needs a mountain of metalwork. With all the different directions kids get pulled in HS what has anyone seen out there?

Any insight is appreciated.

Blair
Attachments - The Supercar Registry 47724.jpg 47723.jpg
O Garage vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
Click here to view all the pictures posted in this thread...
Old 12-08-2015, 02:46 PM

Default Re: First Cars and Musclecars

Blair - love the legacy. Father/son bonding....priceless. Keep us posted!